The Violet Cake Shop™

Sharing inspirations for my designs, and tips I've discovered along the way in my caking journey! <3

Gumpaste Ranunculus Tutorial by The Violet Cake Shop™

Leave a comment

I first made this tutorial in early 2014 after having made a Christmas cake that featured my own modified version of the sugar ranunculus flower.  It was to help celebrate a recent Facebook milestone and to thank my followers for their support of my humble page.  It was also my first real, full-length tutorial and I was worried how it would be taken.  Thankfully, everyone was very supportive!

Cover Photo - Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus

 

Well, two years later and I figured I better get some of my tutorials up on my blog since it would seem, they are not easily found on my Facebook page, despite being in their own Albums.  So, I will slowly start to upload my free tutorials each as a blog post, even though I did do a catchall tutorial blog post with links to all my existing tutorials.  I guess having them each accessible in their own individual post is just easier all around.

This Christmas cake from 2013 is still one of my fave designs since I tried a lot of new things for me including making gumpaste flowers.

20131224_121018 - iv - ii

 

Here are the tutorial steps to help you create your very own gumpaste ranunculus…ENJOY!

(Note: these are my own techniques developed independently with my own ideas and shared for personal use ONLY.  They are not to be used for monetary gain or to develop products, books, DVDs, downloads or lessons for sale or to be taught in classes or tutorials, whether hands-on, on-line, in video format or in print without express written consent.)

Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 2 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 3 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 4 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 5 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 6 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 7 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 8 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 9 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 10 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 11 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 12 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 13 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 14 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 15 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 16 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 17 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 18 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 19 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 20 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 21 Tutorial - My Version of a Ranunculus - 22

(Note: these are my own techniques developed independently with my own ideas and shared for personal use ONLY.  They are not to be used for monetary gain or to develop products, books, DVDs, downloads or lessons for sale or to be taught in classes or tutorials, whether hands-on, on-line, in video format or in print without express written consent.)

Author: The Violet Cake Shop™

Hi, I'm Violet, currently a mom of two and part-time cake designer/decorator! I first discovered my love for cake art in early 2008 when researching how to make a cake for my husband's milestone birthday. I consider myself "internet or community taught" having found and learned as much as I could from the many helpful sites, blogs, YouTube videos and tutorials around the net, where people were willing to share their craft. I used every family occasion to practice after that and soon, friends and family were asking me to make their cakes, which I did for many years. I took an extended break from taking orders after the birth of my daughter, to spend more quality time with the kids. I then spent the next years since, creating one-of-a-kind pieces for special projects, magazine tutorials and personal occasions, taking on the odd order here and there. I share my work along with tips & tricks on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest, as well as in this blog. Here, you can also find helpful insights and free tutorials that will hopefully make your cake decorating life easier. I have had the honour of being part of several special Facebook cake community collaborations that have been named as Finalists for the prestigious Cake Masters Collaboration of the Year Award, one of which won in 2018. I've been named as a Finalist for the Cake Masters Awards for the Best Magazine Cover (2019) and for the American Cake Awards for the Cake Maker Award (2020). My cakes have been featured in print in Edible Artists Network and American Cake Decorating Magazines in the US; in Cake Masters, Cake Craft Guide's Party Cakes, Cake Craft Guide's Wedding Cakes & Sugar Flowers and Cake Decoration & Sugarcraft Magazines in the UK; and in Australia's Sweet Magazine. I've also been featured online as 'Edible Art of The Day' at Edible Artists Network's blog, as Satin Ice's Cake of the Month for January 2015, and in online magazines and blogs such as Cake Wrecks' Sunday Sweets, the Craftsy Blog, 'The Cake of the Week' on FB, Pretty Witty Cakes' online Magazine, American Cake Decorating's Blog, Satin Ice Showcases, Australian Cake Decorating Network's online Cake! Magazine and in Cake Geek Magazine. My cakes have also been chosen to grace the cover of four industry-leading magazines, as the featured cake. I've been invited and have travelled worldwide, to teach my style in hands-on classes and demos. I've filmed online video classes for Pretty Witty Cakes in the UK and Craftsy in the US. I am also a proud member of the Satin Ice Artists of Excellence team. I am constantly inspired by all things around me, particularly fashion, geometric prints, home décor trends and of course, other sugar artists!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.