The Violet Cake Shop™

Sharing inspirations for my designs, and tips I've discovered along the way in my caking journey! <3

How to Make a Two-Toned Bow – Quick Tutorial

Leave a comment

 

IMG_3727 - wm - cropped for blog.JPG

It’s been about two years now since I first introduced this tutorial on my Facebook page after getting awesome feedback on a wedding cake I’d made for some good friends of ours the previous November.  There were lots of positive comments on the bow asking me how I made it.

I have always maintained and must say again here that although I’ve used this two-toned bow idea many times in designs of mine, it is not my original idea.  I can’t say for sure whose original idea it was but I first saw a similar bow used on a cake by Sweet Picasso Cake Creations on Facebook.  It was a STUNNING mustard yellow tiered cake that was simple, yet so dramatic because of that black and white two-toned bow.

The first time I used it, was on a geometric cake design back in July of 2013 after a long hiatus away from caking after having my daughter.  The method I used here was the initial one I attempted which was not as easy nor as neat as the one I eventually developed and use in the tutorial.  For this bow, I used two full layers of fondant for the bow pieces, laying one on top of the other, to create the two-toned effect.  Needless to say, this first method is harder to get clean and neat and takes longer so that you have to fight the clock or risk it drying up too quick on you and ending with a huge mess and lots of time wasted.  I had to re-make the bow for this cake three times before I was happy.

Eva's 21st Tiffany Blue with Bows - twm

 

The next time I used this bow was on the wedding cake for friends that I mentioned above.  Between the first bow and this bow, I attempted and tested two other methods before settling on this one as being the best way to go.

Sam &amp; Satoko's at Venue

 

I have since used it on a few other cakes which you can see at the end of this article.  Here are the steps for making my version of this two-toned bow with detailed instructions.  This tutorial can also be used to make basic bows, just omit the steps where you add the coloured strips (of course…duh…but just have to say it! LOL):

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 1

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 2

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 3

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 4

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 5

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 6

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 7

** Please note I had forgotten to take photos for adding the coloured strips to the front middle piece of the bow (the 2″ strip) so those steps are missing but you get the idea 😉  Those steps should be done before the following slide…

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 8

 

My Two-Toned Bow Tutorial - 9

 

My other cakes featuring a two-toned bow…

Carlington's 2nd Birthday - Minnie, Mickey, Daisy and Donald - Closeup - twmpm

2014 Christmas Cardinal and Mistletoes - twmpm

 

The Violet Cake Shop - Starry Night Christmas Cake for Cake Craft Guide Party Cakes Issue 25 - IMG_3666 - watermark

Happy Caking Y’all!

 

Author: The Violet Cake Shop™

Hi, I'm Violet, currently a full-time stay-at-home mom of two and part-time cake designer/decorator! I first discovered my love for cake art in early 2008 when researching how to make a cake for my husband's milestone birthday. I consider myself "internet or community taught" having found and learned as much as I could from the many helpful sites, blogs, YouTube videos, tutorials around the net, where people were willing to share their craft. I used every family occasion to practice after that and soon, friends and family were asking me to make their cakes and I have been busy creating cakes part-time ever since. I took an extended break after the birth of my daughter, to spend time more quality time with the kids. I now spend my time creating one-of-kind pieces for special projects and personal occasions, taking the odd order here and there. I currently maintain a popular Facebook page, Twitter and Pinterest accounts and this blog where I share my insights, tips and free tutorials as well as any new creations. I have had the honour of being part of several special Facebook cake community collaborations, with more to come. My cakes have been featured in print in Edible Artists Network and American Cake Decorating Magazines in the US; in Cake Masters, Cake Craft Guide's Party Cakes and Cake Craft Guide's Wedding Cakes & Sugar Flowers Magazines in the UK; and in Australia's Sweet Magazine. I've also been featured online as 'Edible Art of The Day' at Edible Artists Network's blog, as Satin Ice's Cake of the Month for January 2015, and in online magazines or blogs such as Cake Wrecks' Sunday Sweets, the Craftsy Blog, 'The Cake of the Week' on FB, Pretty Witty Cakes' online Magazine, American Cake Decorating's Blog, Satin Ice Showcases, Australian Cake Decorating Network's online Cake Magazine (Joomag) and in Cake Geek Magazine. I've recently begun teaching via online video tutorials having filmed for Pretty Witty Cakes in the UK and Craftsy in the US. I am also a proud member of the Satin Ice Artists of Excellence team. I am constantly inspired by all things around me, particularly fashion, geometric prints, home décor trends and of course, other sugar artists!

Leave a Reply

