The Violet Cake Shop™

Sharing inspirations for my designs, and tips I've discovered along the way in my caking journey! <3

New Technique – Stand Up Ruffles

Leave a comment

Wow…I’m so excited to share with everyone a new way of making ruffles.  Yes…it’s time-consuming…most ruffles are…but the effect is so worth it!  This new way of doing fondant or sugarpaste ruffles is SO versatile.  I’ve already used them in three ways, each one just a tad different in terms of the amount of ruffling done as well as the pattern and colours.

I had seen so many lovely ruffle cakes that were starting to take on directional qualities like all vertical or all diagonal and loved the look.  But I really wanted to get a tighter look as most of them were loose and not necessarily as ruffled or neat.  Then I saw Shannon Bond of Shannon Bond Cake Design do her AMAZING directional ruffles in buttercream.  Now, I am pretty good at fondant work but I admit, I SUCK (yes, I say it loudly ’cause it’s SO true lol) at pretty much anything piping related.  So, I decided to test out a theory I had on how I could get directional ruffles but with fondant or sugarpaste, rather than buttercream.  Lo and behold, it actually worked lol!

I get to share with you all my method in about a month because it’s in a tutorial that just came out in Cake Decoration & Sugarcraft Magazine.  When the current issue of the magazine tutorial I made comes off sale, I can share away, so VERY soon.  If you simply CANNOT wait, you can grab your copy of the August 2017 issue and get the jump on how to make them.  In the meantime, I will just tease you all with the cakes I’ve made using this method.

My Mother-in-law’s 75th birthday cake created March 25th, 2017:

MIL's Greenery 75th - IMG_8097 - ii - watermarked

MIL's Greenery 75th - IMG_8097 - ruffles - watermarked

 

My Elegant Indian Fashion Collaboration cake created in April 2017 and revealed in June:

The Violet Cake Shop - EIF2 - IMG_8179 - ii - watermarked

The Violet Cake Shop - EIF2 - IMG_8134 - ii - watermarked

 

My Modern Tropical Wedding cake designed for Cake Decoration & Sugarcraft Magazine’s August 2017 issue out now – created in May 2017:

The Violet Cake Shop - Modern Tropical Seaside - CDSM - IMG_8602 - iv - wm

IMG_8568 - ii - ruffles only

Hope you all like it and stay tuned for the blog post on how I created these.  I will share a quick overview of the method but also will release the full tutorial of this cake design as a paid PDF version in my FB shop around the same time.

Happy Caking Y’ALL!

 

Author: The Violet Cake Shop™

Hi, I'm Violet, currently a full-time stay-at-home mom of two and part-time cake designer/decorator! I first discovered my love for cake art in early 2008 when researching how to make a cake for my husband's milestone birthday. I consider myself "internet or community taught" having found and learned as much as I could from the many helpful sites, blogs, YouTube videos, tutorials around the net, where people were willing to share their craft. I used every family occasion to practice after that and soon, friends and family were asking me to make their cakes and I have been busy creating cakes part-time ever since. I took an extended break after the birth of my daughter, to spend time more quality time with the kids. I now spend my time creating one-of-kind pieces for special projects and personal occasions, taking the odd order here and there. I currently maintain a popular Facebook page, Twitter and Pinterest accounts and this blog where I share my insights, tips and free tutorials as well as any new creations. I have had the honour of being part of several special Facebook cake community collaborations, with more to come. My cakes have been featured in print in Edible Artists Network and American Cake Decorating Magazines in the US; in Cake Masters, Cake Craft Guide's Party Cakes and Cake Craft Guide's Wedding Cakes & Sugar Flowers Magazines in the UK; and in Australia's Sweet Magazine. I've also been featured online as 'Edible Art of The Day' at Edible Artists Network's blog, as Satin Ice's Cake of the Month for January 2015, and in online magazines or blogs such as Cake Wrecks' Sunday Sweets, the Craftsy Blog, 'The Cake of the Week' on FB, Pretty Witty Cakes' online Magazine, American Cake Decorating's Blog, Satin Ice Showcases, Australian Cake Decorating Network's online Cake Magazine (Joomag) and in Cake Geek Magazine. I've recently begun teaching via online video tutorials having filmed for Pretty Witty Cakes in the UK and Craftsy in the US. I am also a proud member of the Satin Ice Artists of Excellence team. I am constantly inspired by all things around me, particularly fashion, geometric prints, home décor trends and of course, other sugar artists!

Leave a Reply

